Keeping Youth Home.

nextgenWatching my brother drive down my parent’s long driveway with a cloud of dust behind him, I wipe my eyes as he sets out to work in the province of Ontario. Like many people in Cape Breton, I await his return for the next holiday or occasion. Saying goodbye to young and talented Cape Bretoners is not something that I will ever get used to.

One of the world’s most treasured beauties, Cape Breton is a lovely and welcoming place to grow business, development and families. Due to lack of industry and employment many people that call Cape Breton home have had to pack their bags and make new opportunities elsewhere, leaving behind family, friends and memories.

However, young people living in Cape Breton have a new resource to turn to. NextGen Leadership Society seeks the retention and attraction of young people in Cape Breton. NextGen’s goals are centered on young people both from Cape Breton and new comers to the island becoming passionately involved in issues, events and opportunities in the community.

NextGen aims to bring together young talent in Cape Breton for the prosperity and development of the community. With the intention of uniting and connecting young people, NextGen provides information on employment opportunities, social engagement and networking opportunities. The hope of NextGen is that more young people will be able to plant their roots at home, here in Cape Breton; finding a successful balance between work and life.

Making Cape Breton an island of choice for our young people to stay and prosper is crucial to the economic and cultural development of the place we call home. While people will always be drawn to explore the adventures of other places, NextGen is a strong partner in engaging young people that wish to see our island reach its full potential; a place rich in history, culture and development.

No longer able to see the tail lights of my brother’s car, I decided that it is here in Cape Breton that I want to invest my life of work and leisure. It is my hope that he will someday be able to join me. Through organizations like NextGen Cape Breton, we can work together for the prosperity of our beloved island.

Entry submitted by Kelsea MacNeil, 24, from New Waterford, Nova Scotia.

Leave a comment